Archief WCH-ANA - Department of Anesthesia fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area


Department of Anesthesia fonds

Algemene aanduiding van het materiaal

Parallelle titel

Overige titelinformatie

Title statements of responsibility

Titel aantekeningen




referentie code




Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Datering archiefvorming


  • 1900-2010 (Vervaardig)
    Women's College Hospital. Department of Anesthesia

Fysieke beschrijving

Fysieke beschrijving

5 m of textual records
41 ledgers
5 books
1 audio cassette
25 photographs
107 slides
3 diskettes
16 medical instruments
1 plate
1 medical coat

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archivistische beschrijving

Naam van de archiefvormer


Institutionele geschiedenis

Established in 1914, the Department of Anesthesia was one of Women's College Hospital's first medical departments. The Department of Anesthesia began accepting residents and interns in the 1950s and became fully-affiliated with the University of Toronto in 1969. The Department of Anesthesia provides general, local, and regional anesthesia to surgical patients, as well as consultation services for pain management and pre-operative assessment.

Dr. Margaret McCallum-Johnston, a graduate of the Ontario Medical College for Women, was appointed the first Chief of Anesthesia (1914-1926). Dr. McCallum-Johnston was assisted by Dr. Samuel Johnston, the first full-time anesthetist in Canada, and Dr. Hannah Reid, also a graduate of the Ontario Medical College for Women. Dr. Reid succeeded Dr. McCallum-Johnston as Chief of Anesthesia (1926-1932). She was followed by Dr. Ellen Blatchford (1932-1956), Dr. Evelyn Bateman (1956-1972), Dr. Edith Rogoman (1972-1982), and Dr. Bronwyn Gates (1982-1988).

Dr. Jean Kronberg became Chief of Anesthesia in 1989. When Women's College Hospital amalgamated with Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre in 1998, she became Deputy Chief of Anesthesia and was responsible for the Women's College site. Dr. Kronberg again became Chief of Anesthesia at Women's College Hospital following the de-amalgamation in 2006. She remained in this position until 2012.

Dr. Kronberg was succeeded as Chief of Anesthesia by Dr. Gerald O'Leary (2012-present).

Geschiedenis beheer

Bereik en inhoud

The fonds consists of the records of the Department of Anesthesia of Women's College Hospital from 1900-2010. The fonds is arranged into thirty series and contains minutes, annual reports, departmental reviews, journal articles, instructional manuals, reports, correspondence, research data, photographs, slides, and medical equipment.


Materiële staat

Directe bron van verwerving


Taal van het materiaal

Schrift van het materiaal

Plaats van originelen

Beschikbaarheid in andere opslagformaten

Restrictions on access

Please contact the Archivist for information about access restrictions for this fonds.

Termen voor gebruik, reproductie en publicatie.


Finding aids are available upon request.

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standaard nummer


Onderwerp trefwoord

Geografische trefwoorden

Naam ontsluitingsterm

Genre access points


Identificatie van het beschrijvingsrecord

Identificatiecode van de instelling

Regels of conventies


Niveau van detaillering

Datering van aanmaak, herziening of verwijdering

Taal van de beschrijving

Schrift van de beschrijving


Voorwaarden voor raadpleging en gebruik

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres