Fonds - University of St. Michael's College. President's Office fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

University of St. Michael's College. President's Office fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1852-1978 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

13 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The Univeristy of St. Michael's College President's Office evolved from the original Superior's Office of the Basilian Fathers when St. Michael's College was established in 1852. The Superior, while administrator, was also spiritual leader to young men aspiring to the priesthood, teacher in the schools, liaison with the ecclesiastical office of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Toronto and correspondent with the Congregation of St. Basil in Anonay, France. Until 1904, the Superior acted as Director of Studies; upon separation of duties, the position changed to President and in 1958 the President held the office of Principal. In 1976, a lay person was named Principal (1976) while the Basilian Father President retained the administrative post. In 1990, the first layperson was appointed as President of the University.The fonds of the indiividual Superiors and Presidents can be found under their names: Jean-Mathieu Soulerin (1852-1865), Charles Vincent (1865-1886), Daniel Cushing (1886-1889 and 1904-1906), John Read Teefy (1889-1904), Nicholas Roche ( 1906-1910), Francis Gerald Powell (1910-1911), Thomas James Hayes (1911-1912), Robert McBrady (1912-1915), Henry Carr (1915-1925), Edmund Joseph McCorkell (1925-1931 and 1934-1940), Henry Stanislaus Bellisle (1931-1934), Terence Patrick McLaughlin (1940-1946), Louis Joseph Bondy (1946-1952), Laurence Kennedy Shook (1952-1958) and John Michael Kelly (1958-1978).

Name of creator

Name of creator

Custodial history

Scope and content

This fonds contains correspondence, memorabilia, financial reports, official records of the governing bodies, papers in relation to other educational and university insitutions, both local and international.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Notes Restricted access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids


Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area