Fonds - Carleton University Office of the President fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Carleton University Office of the President fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1938-1996 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

75 m of textual records 4 audio tapes 3 diskettes

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Biographical history

This office was established in 1942 by the Ottawa Association for the Advancement of Learning, the body which founded Carleton College. The President and Vice-Chancellor is the Chief Executive Officer of the University, and is appointed by the Board of Governors on the recommendation of the Senate, for a seven year term which may be renewed. The President is responsible to the Board of Governors to ensure the University functions in accordance with the policies enacted by the Board and Senate pursuant to their respective powers as set in the Carleton University Act of 1952. As such, the President attempts to reconcile the academic direction of the institution and the demands of finance and administration. Functions of the President include providing overall leadership, presenting the annual budget and making recommendations to the Board and Senate. He or she is an ex officio member of the Senate, Board of Governors, and all faculty boards and may also perform the function of Chancellor should a vacancy in the office exist. The secretariat for the Senior Planning Committee is in the Office of the President. The current President is Richard Van Loon (1996 - present ). The past Presidents have included: Dr.Henry Marshall Tory (1942-1947), Murdoch Maxwell MacOdrum (1947-1955), James Alexander Gibson (1955-1956), Claude Thomas Bissell (1956-1958), Mr. Arnold Davidson Dunton (1958-1972), Michael Kelway Oliver (1972-1978), James Downey (Pro tempore, Jan-May 1979), William Edwin Beckel (1979-1989), Robin Hugh Farquhar.

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Biographical history

Name of creator

Custodial history

Previous to the establishment of the archives in 1994 some records had been stored in the vault. The vault is the area Carleton University Archives uses to store its holdings and is named so because of the vault door used to enter and exit the area. These records were officially transferred to the archives in 1995.

Scope and content

The fonds consists of records created and recieved by the Office of the President. They include records from Presidential Committees, budget planning and administrating, records created while participating in external organizations, as well as records created while overseeing academics and students on campus. These records are represented by 41 different series, which have been arranged alphabetically. Fonds consists of the following series: Academic Administrative Administrative Departments Review and Personnel Policy Advisory Committee Association of University Colleges of Canada Board Of Governors Committee Budgets Budget Planning Group Buildings and Development Campaign Chronological files Commision on the Second Half-Century Committee of Deans Committee files a to v Committee of Presidents of Universities of Ontario Convocation files Council of Ontario Universities Department of Colleges and Universities Department of University Affairs Beckel's diaries Enrolement files Extension Department Finance General Committee's General files Henry Marshal Tory personal papers Legal files Ministry of Colleges and Universities Capital Submissions National Conference of Canadian Universities Office of Director of Planning Ontario Council of University Affairs Organizations Plaunt Lectures MacOdrum personal papers Search Committee Senior Management Committee Social Science Nominations Staff Aplications Student files President Farquhar Senate Unions

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

Office of the President.


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

All records subject to University Access to Information Policy. See Web site .

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

No reproduction without written approval of Archivist.

Finding aids

Electronic description and file list on database Box lists

Associated materials

Related materials


Further accruals are expected as records become inactive.

General note

Fonds arranged by archivist.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area